Get Out the Vote for Your Neighbors Running for the Citizens Nominating Committee on November 12, 2019

votebuttonOn Tuesday, November 12, a week after the November 5 general elections, Scarsdale voters will turn out again to elect their neighbors who are running for seats on the nonpartisan Citizens Nominating Committee (CNC). Sixteen residents have volunteered to run for open spots on the CNC as representatives from each elementary school district. Those who are elected will join current CNC members to meet and evaluate non-partisan candidates for the village offices of three Trustees and Village Justice. The 30 elected members of the CNC will then nominate candidates to represent the Non-Partisan party’s slate in the village election, which takes place on Tuesday, March 17, 2020.*

The Procedure Committee, comprised of CNC graduates and other Scarsdale volunteers, administers the CNC process. According to Procedure Committee Chair Eric Cheng, “these are the candidates whose names will appear on the CNC ballot on November 12, and the current members of the CNC. Biographies of each candidate will appear in the Election Brochure mailed to all residents, who are encouraged to look for it in their mailbox the week prior to November 12.


Procedure Committee Co-Chair Sarit Kessel Fuchs stated that “Voters this year will elect two candidates from each Election Unit neighborhood with the exception of Quaker Ridge, where voters will elect three candidates, and the third highest vote getter in this election will fill a one-year vacancy. The new nominating committee members elected on November 12 will join 19 other residents now serving staggered three-year terms on the CNC.”

This year the Procedure Committee has proposed no amendments to the Non-Partisan Resolution, the governing document of the non-partisan electoral system.

ALL DAY VOTING: The CNC election will be held on Tuesday, November 12, 2019 at Village Hall. Residents who are qualified voters may vote in person in the Village Hall Lobby on that date from 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM, or by mail-in ballot. Mail-in ballots must be received in the Procedure Committee’s Chase Road P.O. Box 284 by 5:00 PM on Election Day. In the event of a tie, a run-off election will be held on Tuesday, November 19, 2018.

The members of the 2019-2020 Procedure Committee are: Stephen Baer, Daniel Brown, Eric Cheng, Chair, Marie DiPalma, Madelaine Eppenstein, Sarit Kessel Fuchs, Vice Chair, Dan Gerardi, Judy Wenjing Kerr, Jon Leslie, Matt Martin, Barry Meiselman, BK Munguia, ML Perlman, Andrew Sereysky, Gregory Soldatenko, Peter Tesler, Amber Yusef, and Anne Zink. Contact: Eric Cheng, Chair,; Sarit Kessel Fuchs, Vice Chair,

* Under New York State Law, candidates may run outside the non-partisan election system for village office through a write in campaign or by obtaining the prescribed number of signatures on a nominating petition.